



# Board of Commissioners of Cook County

## Legislation Details (With Text)

Version: 1 File #: 19-1189 Name: HONORING THE CHICAGO WOLVES ON THE

TEAM'S 25-YEAR ANNIVERSARY

Consent Calendar Resolution Approved Type: Status:

1/10/2019 **Board of Commissioners** File created: In control:

1/23/2019 On agenda: 1/23/2019 Final action:

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE CHICAGO WOLVES ON THE TEAM'S 25-YEAR ANNIVERSARY

WHEREAS, on October 14, 1994, the Chicago Wolves played their first home game in front of a sellout crowd of 16,623 at the Rosemont Horizon, resulting in a 4-2 victory against the Detroit Vipers;

and

WHEREAS, in June of 1998, the Wolves shut out Detroit to capture their first-ever Turner Cup Championship, 4-games-to-3; and

WHEREAS, in 1999, center Chris Marinucci is named the IHL's Man of the Year. He receives the I. John Snider II Trophy, given to the player who has distinguished himself through unselfish donation of time and resources to charitable and educational efforts within his community; and

WHEREAS, in June of 2000, after a scoreless first period, center Derek Plante notches two goals 26 seconds apart to eliminate the Griffins, earning the Wolves' second Turner Cup Championship; and

WHEREAS, the Wolves clinch their third championship in five years in June of 2002 when center Yuri Butsayev scores in double-overtime to defeat Bridgeport; and

WHEREAS, in June of 2004, Wolves defenseman Kurtis Foster is named the AHL's Man of the Year. It is the fourth time a Wolves player has won the award; and

WHEREAS, in June of 2008, the Wolves clinch their fourth league title in 11 years and second Calder Cup Championship; and

WHEREAS, in 2010, the Wolves are named the recipient of the AHL's President's Award, given annually to a team in honor of excellence in all areas off the ice; and

WHEREAS, in 2014, right wing Michael Davies is awarded the IOA/American Specialty Man of the Year Award and becomes a repeat winner of the Wolves' Dan Snyder Award due to his unwavering commitment to the Chicagoland community and charitable efforts; and

WHEREAS, in January of 2015, head coach John Anderson is behind the bench for his 1,000th regular-season game with the Wolves. Defenseman Brent Regner receives the Tim Breslin Unsung Hero Award in March of 2015, making him the first repeat winner in team history; and

WHEREAS, in 2017, the Wolves seize their fourth division title in the last eight years as they deliver a 4-3 overtime victory over the Charlotte Checkers at Allstate Arena; and

WHEREAS, in April, 2018, the Wolves become the only AHL team during the 2017-18 season to repeat as division champs; and

WHEREAS, as the Wolves approach the quarter-century mark as a franchise, they've earned more than 1,000 regular-season wins, while the team continues to support a variety of Chicagoland

#### File #: 19-1189, Version: 1

charities.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Cook County Board of Commissioners does hereby congratulate the Chicago Wolves on their 25th Anniversary; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this resolution be tendered to the Chicago Wolves as an expression of our appreciation for its continued excellence in hockey and commitment to the community.

Sponsors:

PETER N. SILVESTRI

Indexes:

**Code sections:** 

#### Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
1/23/2019	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass

#### PROPOSED RESOLUTION

#### HONORING THE CHICAGO WOLVES ON THE TEAM'S 25-YEAR ANNIVERSARY

WHEREAS, on October 14, 1994, the Chicago Wolves played their first home game in front of a sellout crowd of 16,623 at the Rosemont Horizon, resulting in a 4-2 victory against the Detroit Vipers; and

WHEREAS, in June of 1998, the Wolves shut out Detroit to capture their first-ever Turner Cup Championship, 4-games-to-3; and

**WHEREAS**, in 1999, center Chris Marinucci is named the IHL's Man of the Year. He receives the I. John Snider II Trophy, given to the player who has distinguished himself through unselfish donation of time and resources to charitable and educational efforts within his community; and

WHEREAS, in June of 2000, after a scoreless first period, center Derek Plante notches two goals 26 seconds apart to eliminate the Griffins, earning the Wolves' second Turner Cup Championship; and

**WHEREAS**, the Wolves clinch their third championship in five years in June of 2002 when center Yuri Butsayev scores in double-overtime to defeat Bridgeport; and

**WHEREAS**, in June of 2004, Wolves defenseman Kurtis Foster is named the AHL's Man of the Year. It is the fourth time a Wolves player has won the award; and

WHEREAS, in June of 2008, the Wolves clinch their fourth league title in 11 years and second Calder Cup Championship; and

WHEREAS, in 2010, the Wolves are named the recipient of the AHL's President's Award, given annually to a team in honor of excellence in all areas off the ice; and

WHEREAS, in 2014, right wing Michael Davies is awarded the IOA/American Specialty Man of the Year Award and becomes a repeat winner of the Wolves' Dan Snyder Award due to his unwavering commitment to the Chicagoland community and charitable efforts; and

WHEREAS, in January of 2015, head coach John Anderson is behind the bench for his 1,000th regular-season game with the Wolves. Defenseman Brent Regner receives the Tim Breslin Unsung Hero Award in March of 2015, making him the first repeat winner in team history; and

### File #: 19-1189, Version: 1

WHEREAS, in 2017, the Wolves seize their fourth division title in the last eight years as they deliver a 4-3 overtime victory over the Charlotte Checkers at Allstate Arena; and

WHEREAS, in April, 2018, the Wolves become the only AHL team during the 2017-18 season to repeat as division champs; and

WHEREAS, as the Wolves approach the quarter-century mark as a franchise, they've earned more than 1,000 regular-season wins, while the team continues to support a variety of Chicagoland charities.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Cook County Board of Commissioners does hereby congratulate the Chicago Wolves on their 25<sup>th</sup> Anniversary; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that a suitable copy of this resolution be tendered to the Chicago Wolves as an expression of our appreciation for its continued excellence in hockey and commitment to the community.