

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

Legislation Details

File #: 19-1357 Version: 1 Name: RECOGNIZING NEW 50, INC.

INTERGENERATIONAL MENTORING PROGRAM

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 1/17/2019 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 1/23/2019 Final action: 1/23/2019

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

RECOGNIZING NEW 50, INC. INTERGENERATIONAL MENTORING PROGRAM

WHEREAS, Dr. Delece Williams has worked with youth and young adults for over 20 years through her nonprofit Kidz Korna dedicated to reducing violence through digital media and community outreach; and

WHEREAS, through Dr. Williams leadership, she established the New 50, Inc. and its Intergenerational Mentoring Program that provides mentorship and support to youth across Cook County; and

WHEREAS, mentors and mentoring relationships have a lasting impact upon the confidence and trajectory of children; and

WHEREAS, everyday youth in the City of Chicago and surrounding suburbs lack positive and meaningful relationships with adults to help them navigate the everyday challenges of life; and

WHEREAS, less than 5% of youth facing one or more risk factors in Cook County are currently served in a mentoring program, and many children in Cook County need the support of a quality and caring mentor; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the President and Members of the Board of Commissioners, on behalf of more than 5.2 million residents of Cook County, do hereby take this opportunity to commend the New 50, Inc. Intergenerational Mentoring Program; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this Resolution be spread upon the official proceeding of this Honorable Body in recognition of the New 50, Inc. Intergenerational Mentoring Program positive contributions towards the healthy development and success for youth in Cook County. ..end

Sponsors: STANLEY MOORE, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR, SCOTT

R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, KEVIN B. MORRISON, SEAN M. MORRISON, PETER

N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
1/23/2019	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass