



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 19-2702 Version: 1 Name: HONORING PEG BLANCHARD FOR HER YEARS

OF SERVICE TO BARRINGTON

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 4/3/2019 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 4/24/2019 Final action: 4/24/2019

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

RESOLUTION HONORING PEGGY BLANCHARD FOR HER YEARS OF SERVICE TO

BARRINGTON

WHEREAS, Peggy Blanchard was hired as the first Economic Development Director of Barrington, IL

in 1996; and,

WHEREAS, Peggy served as the Barrington Economic Development Director until her retirement in

March, 2019; and,

WHEREAS, she was instrumental in beautifying the physical environment of the downtown with

infrastructure and streetscape projects; and,

WHEREAS, Peggy helped to establish Barrington's Cook Street Plaza, which today includes

Francesca's Italian Restaurant, Cook Street Coffee, Ice Cream Social, and Tootsies Shoes; and,

WHEREAS, Peggy helped to establish Barrington's Village Center, which today includes Shakou

eatery, NeoTeca, Bluemercury, and Egg Harbor Café; and,

WHEREAS, under her leadership 101 West Liberty, a new multi-family residential project was

constructed; and,

WHEREAS, the economic development program established by Peggy led to a number of economic

incentive agreements to retain and attract new business enterprises to the community; and,

WHEREAS, the work that Peggy Blanchard has done has led to more economic activity and created

many jobs in Barrington; and,

WHEREAS, Peggy Blanchard is a true testament of public service; and,

THEREFORE, BE IS RESOLVED, that we, the Cook County Board of Commissioners, would like to

recognize Peggy Blanchard for her exemplary career and dedication to public service; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this resolution is presented to Peggy Blanchard.

Sponsors: KEVIN B. MORRISON, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR,

SCOTT R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER,

BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON,

PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver. Action By	Action	Result
------	----------------	--------	--------

File #: 19-2702, Version: 1						
4/24/2019	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass		