



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 19-3022 Version: 1 Name: Dr. Terri Winfree Resolution

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 4/17/2019 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 4/24/2019 Final action: 4/24/2019

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING DR. TERRI WINFREE

WHEREAS, Dr. Terri L. Winfree is the 14th President of Prairie State College (PSC) and began her presidency on May 19, 2013; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Winfree is the first woman President of the college, the first PSC graduate to be named President, and the first person in her immediate family to attend college; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Winfree began her career at the college first as a student, then as a part-time employee, and then moved through a succession of positions at the college, culminating as President; and

WHEREAS, after graduating from PSC with an Associate Degree in General Studies in 1996, she received her Bachelor of Arts in 1998 and Master of Arts in Communication Studies/Human Performance and Training in 2000 from Governors State University, and in 2012, she obtained her Ph.D. in Education and Human Resources from Colorado State University; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Winfree's story resonates with many PSC students because it is similar to theirs - starting her college education at PSC as a part-time, adult student, and as a first-generation college student; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Winfree started in 1995 as a part-time employee teaching non-credit computer classes and serving as the coordinator of career training programs; Next, she was named manager of the Matteson Area Center from 1998 to 2000; she served as associate dean, continuing professional education from 2000-2004; and then was named dean of continuing professional education from 2004 to 2007; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Winfree would go on to be named vice president of community and economic development in 2007, and served in that capacity until she was selected as president in 2013; and

WHEREAS, on behalf of the college, Dr. Winfree has served in leadership positions with numerous organizations including the Illinois Council of Community College Administrators, The Chicago Southland Chamber of Commerce, The Chicago Southland Convention and Visitors Bureau, and has served as a member of The Chicago Southland Economic Development Committee; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Winfree also is an active member of the Professional Women's Network and has served on several educational foundation scholarship committees; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Winfree has received numerous awards including: The Women in Leadership award from the Link & Option Center, Inc. in 2015, The Giving Back Award from INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine in 2016, which is based on an outstanding demonstration of social responsibility, a commitment to charitable services, and involvement with students, faculty and staff to serve underrepresented populations with each honoree being recognized for his or her passion, dedication and philanthropic achievements; and in 2018, Dr. Winfree was named to the Bloom Trail High School Hall of Fame;

File #: 19-3022, Version: 1

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the President and members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners proudly honors Dr. Terri L. Winfree for her remarkable career and for her service to the community and to Cook County; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT, this text be spread upon the official proceedings of this Honorable Body and a suitable copy be presented to Dr. Terri L. Winfree.

Sponsors:

DONNA MILLER, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR, SCOTT R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, STANLEY MOORE, KEVIN B. MORRISON, SEAN M. MORRISON, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
4/24/2019	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass