



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 19-3741 Version: 1 Name: HONORING THE WORK OF POLICE CHIEF JIM

LAMKIN

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 5/21/2019 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 5/22/2019 Final action: 5/22/2019

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE WORK OF POLICE CHIEF JIM LAMKIN

WHEREAS, Jim Lamkin was the Schaumburg, IL Police Chief from 2013 until May 2019; and,

WHEREAS, Jim Lamkin spent 44 years dedicated to law enforcement; and

WHEREAS, Jim Lamkin oversaw many important changes throughout his tenure in Schaumburg, including: establishing relationships with neighborhood departments, reviewing patrol staffing and increasing efficiencies, and overseeing successful labor contract negotiations; and,

WHEREAS, Jim Lamkin was tasked with implementing recommendations that would continue to restore and enhance the police department's reputation with the community and he succeeded in that task; and,

WHEREAS, Jim Lamkin's collaborative efforts with other departments increased Schaumburg's emergency preparedness efforts and encouraged cooperation; and,

WHEREAS, Jim Lamkin's dedication and hard work led Schaumburg residents to overwhelmingly declare in a recent survey that they feel safe in their community; and,

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Board of the Cook County Commissioners would like to recognize retired Police Chief Jim Lamkin for his many years of dedicated work to improve the lives and safety of residents; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that suitable copies of this resolution are presented to Jim Lamkin.

Sponsors: KEV

KEVIN B. MORRISON, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR, SCOTT R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON,

PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
5/22/2019	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass