



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 19-4149 Version: 1 Name: HONORING DR. SHEILA HARRISON-WILLIAMS

FOR 34 YEARS OF EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP

SERVICES

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 6/17/2019 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 6/26/2019 Final action: 6/26/2019

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING DR. SHEILA HARRISON-WILLIAMS FOR 34 YEARS OF EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP

SERVICES

WHEREAS, Dr. Sheila Harrison-Williams was born in Clarksdale, Mississippi, to Lorraine Harrison, raised on the Westside of Chicago, attending Chicago Public Schools graduating from Westinghouse Area Vocational High School; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Harrison-Williams earned a Bachelor of Arts Degree from Northeastern Illinois University (Chicago), majoring in Special Education and Elementary Education; Master of Arts Degree from Northeastern in Educational Administration; Degree of Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership from Northern Illinois University (DeKalb); post-graduate work at Northeastern and Northern Illinois Universities, achieving an Early Childhood Education Certificate from Northeastern and Chief School Business Official Certification from NIU; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Harrison-Williams is currently completing her fifteenth year as Superintendent of Hazel Crest School District 152½ in Hazel Crest, Illinois. Prior to Hazel Crest, Dr. Harrison-Williams served as Superintendent of Fairmont School District 89 in Lockport, Illinois for two and a half years; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Harrison-Williams is an active member of the following organizations: the American Association of School Administrators; the Illinois and the National School Boards Association; the Illinois Association of School Business Officials and the Suburban Superintendents Association; She is a life member of the National Alliance of Black School Educators (NABSE) and served on the Executive Board as treasurer since 2015; and

WHEREAS, in June 2011, Dr. Harrison-Williams co-founded the HWC Executive Leadership Institute, designed to provide a more in-depth preparation program for those who aspire to become superintendents; and

WHEREAS, July 1, 2018, Dr. Harrison-Williams assumed the role of President of the Illinois Association of School Administrators, where she has served for the past 12 years as an At-Large Governing Board Member and an Officer; She is the first African American to serve as President of this organization in 73 years; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Harrison-Williams has received several awards and recognition as an educational leader, the most recent being the recipient of the 2018 IASA South Cook Superintendent of Distinction Award; 2018 Commissioner Richard Boykins 4th Annual Trailblazer Award; 2016 Reaching Back Foundation's Phenomenal Woman in Education Award; 2014 Kings Daughters Ministry Dream Makers Award; 2012 Chicago Defender "Women of Excellence" Award; Co-recipient of the 2012 AASA Dr. Effie H. Jones "Humanitarian" Award and the 2011 NABSE Joseph E. Hill "Superintendent of the Year" Award.

WHEREAS, as a devoted educator, Dr. Sheila Harrison-Williams has been married to her husband

File #: 19-4149, Version: 1

Ulysses Williams for 35 years, mother of Sir Charles and Ulyssa, grandmother of Siriah, Talijah, Sir Charles II and Aliyah, Mother in-law to Dominique.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that on behalf Toni Preckwinkle, President of the Cook County Board and the Cook County Board of Commissioners do hereby congratulate Dr. Sheila Harrison-Williams on her retirement and for the commendable service and leadership she has provided throughout her tenure; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this Resolution be spread upon the official proceedings of this Honorable Body and that an official copy of the same be tendered to Dr. Sheila Harrison-Williams to celebrate this auspicious occasion.

Sponsors:

DEBORAH SIMS, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR, SCOTT R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, STANLEY MOORE, KEVIN B. MORRISON, SEAN M. MORRISON, PETER N. SILVESTRI, LARRY SUFFREDIN, JEFFREY R. TOBOLSKI

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
6/26/2019	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass