



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 20-4298 Version: 1 Name: NCBW Resolution

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 9/16/2020 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 9/24/2020 Final action: 9/24/2020

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE CHICAGO METROPOLITAN CHAPTER OF THE NATIONAL COALITION OF 100 BLACK WOMEN ON THEIR INAUGURAL CHARTER

WHEREAS, in the winter of 1970, led by visionary Edna Beach, 24 Black Women began to meet together in their homes in New York City following the tumultuous 1960's to assess the problems and opportunities that presented themselves at the beginning of a new decade; and

WHEREAS, as a result of their initial meetings, these pioneering women endeavored to form the Coalition of 100 Black Women, and for the rest of the 1970s, slowly but persistently worked to master root causes of issues that affected their families, their communities and themselves, boldly reaching out to other Black women in common cause, and eventually, mobilized their emerging stature as a visible force of influence promoting gender and racial equity; and

WHEREAS, due to the success and recognition of the Coalition, Black women from other parts of the country aspired to duplicate its mission and programs in their own geographic areas, and it was decided to create a national organization, to expand beyond the boundaries of New York City; and

WHEREAS, the National Coalition of 100 Black Women was launched on October 24, 1981 with over 500 members from 14 states and the District of Columbia, and selected Jewell Jackson McCabe as its first national President; and

WHEREAS, the mission of the National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Inc. is to advocate on behalf of Black women and girls to promote leadership development and gender equity in the areas of health, education and economic empowerment; and

WHEREAS, the National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Inc. is a nationally recognized and significant voice for Black women to collectively advocate and address socioeconomic issues at the local, national and international levels; and

WHEREAS, on September 20, 2020, the National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Inc. chartered a chapter of 145 professional Black women in the City of Chicago d/b/a the Chicago Metropolitan Chapter of the National Coalition of 100 Black Women; and

WHEREAS, the Chicago Metropolitan Chapter Organizer is Drema Lee Woldman and the Co-Organizer is Kimberley Nute-Jones; and

WHEREAS, the Chicago Metropolitan Chapter's membership is comprised of career professionals from all walks of life, who are given the opportunity to advocate for issues of concern to Black women and girls, as well as providing leadership that elevates the quality of life for Black women in transition, and serves as a vehicle to link Black women and girls to corporate and political sectors to enhance their own personal and professional development; and

WHEREAS, as an advocacy group, the Chicago Metropolitan Chapter has three primary program foci: Health, Education and Economics where emphasis is placed on advocating for health disparities, S.T.E.A.M., and Economic Empowerment; and

File #: 20-4298, Version: 1

WHEREAS, the members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners are pleased to support the work and talents of the amazing women in this organization to advocate, engage and uplift communities across Chicagoland and Cook County;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the President and Members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners do hereby congratulate the members of the Chicago Metropolitan Chapter of the National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Inc. on the occasion of the chapter's inaugural charter; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT, September 20, 2020 be hereby declared as Chicago Metropolitan Chapter Day in the County of Cook; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT, this text be spread upon the official proceedings of this Honorable Body and that a suitable copy be presented to a representative of the Chicago Metropolitan Chapter of the National Coalition of 100 Black Women, Inc. as a symbol of our respect and esteem.

Sponsors:

DONNA MILLER, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), FRANK J. AGUILAR, ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR, SCOTT R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, STANLEY MOORE, KEVIN B. MORRISON, SEAN M. MORRISON, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
9/24/2020	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass