



## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

## **Legislation Details**

File #: 21-0583 Version: 1 Name: HONORING REV. CANON PAULA E. CLARK

Approved Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status:

File created: In control: 12/16/2020 **Board of Commissioners** 

On agenda: Final action: 12/17/2020 12/17/2020

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

> HONORING REV. CANON PAULA E. CLARK ON THE OCCASION OF HER ELEVATION TO BISHOP OF THE EPISCOPAL DIOCESE OF CHICAGO

WHEREAS, it has come to the attention of the Cook County Board of Commissioners that Rev. Canon Paula E. Clark was unanimously elected Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Chicago; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Canon Paula E. Clark will be the first women and the first Black Bishop to lead the Episcopal Diocese of Chicago; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Canon Paula E. Clark was baptized at age 10 by Bishop John Walker, the first Black Bishop of the Diocese of Washington; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Canon Paula E. Clark earned her Master of Divinity degree from the Virginia Theological Seminary in Alexandria, Virginia and served at St. Patrick's Episcopal Church in Washington, D.C. and St. John's Episcopal Church in Beltsville, Maryland; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Canon Paula E. Clark joined the staff of Bishop Mariann Edgar Budde in the Episcopal Diocese of Washington as canon for clergy development, multicultural ministry and justice and then as canon to the ordinary chief of staff; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Canon Paula E. Clark will lead a Chicago Diocese that includes 122 congregations and more than 31,000 members in north, central and southwestern Illinois; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Board of Commissioners of Cook County that the Board does hereby offer its heartfelt thanks to the Rev. Canon Paula E. Clark and wishes her much success in her future role as Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Chicago; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this text be spread upon the official proceedings of this Honorable Body, and a suitable copy of the same be tendered to the Rev. Canon Paula E. Clark.

JOHN P. DALEY, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), FRANK J. AGUILAR, ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR, SCOTT R. BRITTON, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, STANLEY MOORE, KEVIN B. MORRISON,

SEAN M. MORRISON, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN

Indexes:

Sponsors:

**Code sections:** 

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
12/17/2020	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass