## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

## **Legislation Details**

File #: 21-1195 **Version**: 1 **Name**:

Type:ResolutionStatus:ApprovedFile created:1/25/2021In control:PresidentOn agenda:1/28/2021Final action:1/28/2021

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

TO ESTABLISH A SPECIAL COMMITTEE TO REDRAW DISTRICTS FOR THE COOK COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

WHEREAS, pursuant to the home rule powers granted by Article VII, section 6a of the Constitution of the State of Illinois (1970), the Cook County Board of Commissioners has adopted Rules of Organization and Procedure (the "Rules") on December 4, 2018 and October 24, 2019; and

WHEREAS, Section 2-109 (a)(4) of the Cook County Code of Ordinances authorizes the Cook County Board of Commissioners ("Board") to create special committees by resolution adopted by a majority of those elected; and

WHEREAS, Section 2-109 (h) further provides that such resolution creating a special committee shall specify the subject matter of the special committee, the number of members to be appointed, and may specify a reporting date during the term; and

WHEREAS, the County of Cook is called upon by law to redraw its districts every decade based upon the population data compiled and made available by the U.S. Census Bureau; and

WHEREAS, the 2020 Census results have not yet been released; however, in order to ensure timely completion of redistricting in Cook County, the Board desires to establish the process and procedures in order to commence its review of County Board district boundaries.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF COOK COUNTY AS FOLLOWS:

- 1. That a special committee of the Board of Commissioners is hereby established under Section 2-109 of the Rules to review the 2020 U.S. Census data upon receipt and to make recommendations to the Board of Commissioners for new County Board district boundaries.
- 2. That such special committee shall be known as the "2020 Census Redistricting Committee" and shall be comprised of all seventeen members of the County Board, one of whom shall be the Chairperson; one of whom shall be the Vice-Chairperson and one of whom shall be the Assistant Vice -Chairperson.
- 3. That the following persons shall be and are hereby appointed to be members and chairpersons of the 2020 Census Redistricting Committee:

Chair: Deborah Sims

Vice-Chair: Peter N. Silvestri

Assistant Vice-Chair: Luis Arroyo, Jr.

Members: Committee of the Whole which is comprised of all Commissioners,

including the Chair, Vice-Chair and Assistant Vice-Chair.

Effective Date: This Resolution shall be effective upon passage.

Sponsors: TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), DEBORAH SIMS, PETER N. SILVESTRI, LUIS ARROYO JR,

## File #: 21-1195, Version: 1

FRANK J. AGUILAR, ALMA E. ANAYA, SCOTT R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, STANLEY MOORE, KEVIN B. MORRISON, SEAN M. MORRISON, LARRY SUFFREDIN

Indexes:

**Code sections:** 

## Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
1/28/2021	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass