



## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

## **Legislation Details**

File #: 21-1214 Version: 1 Name: HONORING DR. EDWARD J. MORRIS SR

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 1/25/2021 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 1/28/2021 Final action: 1/28/2021

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING DR. EDWARD J. MORRIS SR. FOR HIS LEADERSHIP COMMITMENT AND DEDICATION TO THE ENGLEWOOD & WOODLAWN COMMUNITIES

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. Edward Joseph Morris, Sr. has been serving as the Senior Pastor of the Parkway Garden Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) for the past 21 years; and;

WHEREAS, Pastor Morris holds a Bachelor of Science Degree from Elmhurst College, a Master of Divinity Degree from Chicago Theological Seminary (University of Chicago) and an earned Doctor of Ministry Degree from United Theological Seminary in Dayton, OH; and

WHEREAS, among his many blessings, Pastor Morris is married to First Lady Bernadine Morris, his wife of 49 years. They have 5 children: Edward Jr, VP of Programs and Services at Branch Alliance for Educator Diversity, Gregory, a Project Manager in the Building/Construction Industry, Menia Johnson in the Banking Industry and Symone, a recent graduate of Fisk University and entrepreneur. Christopher, their youngest son, has gone on to be with the Lord. In addition, Pastor and Sister Morris have been blessed with 3 grandchildren: Jonathan, Ethan and Alana and;

WHEREAS, Pastor Morris believes strongly in servant leadership and seeks to teach, encourage and develop other servant leaders in the service of our Lord and Savior Jesus the Christ. and;

WHEREAS, Pastor Morris works diligently within the Parkway Garden/Woodlawn community. His involvement includes but is not limited to: partnerships with Dulles Elementary School and the community to provide a safe haven for neighborhood children to enjoy the safety of church campus during spring and summer breaks and:

WHEREAS; as part of his ministry and commitment to the community Pastor Morris visits Parkway community center, comprises of reading to the children, assisting them with homework partnering with 3rd. District CAPS to institute community bonding between neighborhood and police, providing food pantry and clothing at least twice a month and hot meals to the community at holidays.; and

WHEREAS, in collaboration with TEECH foundation he provides an after-school computer lab and employment training for those in several recovery programs, partnering with Movie Makers, Inc instructing community children on technology and movie making, providing school supplies to students of the community at the start of each school year; and

WHEREAS, Pastor Morris has been honored with Humanitarian Awards from the Greater Harvest Missionary Baptist Church, the Chicago Police Department Area Central Community Action Response Team (CART) as well as the 3rd. District Police Community Policing Program, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc , all for his service to the community; and;

WHEREAS, Pastor Morris has traveled extensively on Mission assignments to South Africa, South America, Guatemala and Jamaica. The ministry partners with PHRESS organization to help provide financial and healthcare support to the poverty stricken in Sierra Leone; and

WHEREAS, Cook County Government acknowledges Pastor, Dr. Edward J. Morris Sr. for

## File #: 21-1214, Version: 1

transforming lives through community engagement.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Toni Preckwinkle President of the Cook County Board of Commissioners as well as the Board of Commissioners along with the 5.3 million residents of Cook County do hereby recognized Pastor Edward J. Morris Sr. for his invaluable, leadership, dedication and commitment to the residents of the Englewood & Woodlawn Communities and herewith express our sincere gratitude for your service to the community.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a copy of this resolution is forwarded to Pastor Edward J. Morris Sr. and copy be placed upon the official record of the honorable body recognizing this auspicious occasion

Sponsors:

DENNIS DEER, FRANK J. AGUILAR, ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR, SCOTT R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, STANLEY MOORE, KEVIN B. MORRISON, SEAN M. MORRISON, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN

Indexes:

Code sections:

## Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
1/28/2021	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass