



## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

## **Legislation Details**

File #: 21-1247 Version: 1 Name: A RESOLUTION HONORING THE HAPPINESS

**PROJECT** 

Consent Calendar Resolution Type: Status: Approved

File created: 1/26/2021 In control: **Board of Commissioners** 

On agenda: 1/28/2021 Final action: 1/28/2021

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION HONORING THE HAPPINESS PROJECT

WHEREAS, the Happiness Project is a clothing brand started by Arlington Heights entrepreneurs with a focus on raising awareness for mental health; and

WHEREAS, the Happiness Project's mission is to elevate happiness throughout the world, while

supporting those impacted by mental health issues; and

WHEREAS, the Happiness Project strives to show the world that it's okay to not be okay; and

WHEREAS, the Happiness Project has shared that they hope the encouragement from their funloving community gives everyone the strength to do what makes them happy; and

WHEREAS, Jake Lavin started the Happiness Project after a classmate at Hersey High School lost his battle with mental health; and

WHEREAS, Joey DeFilippo, Mike Jones and Joey Ruben joined the initiative offering different expertise and a passion for the mission; and

WHEREAS, the Happiness Project gives 15% of their proceeds to NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness); and

WHEREAS, the Happiness Project's website and Instagram also provide mental health resources for those that need it: and

WHEREAS, the entrepreneurs hope that the brand will bring positivity and remove stigma around mental illness: and

WHEREAS, as COVID-19 has been difficult for many residents and their mental health, the Happiness Project is a beacon of hope and positivity; and

WHEREAS, these young entrepreneurs and their innovative spirit and passion represent the best of Cook County; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Cook County Board of Commissioners do hereby honor the Happiness Project for the outstanding work they do in Cook County; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that suitable copies of this resolution are presented to Jake Lavin, Joey DeFilippo, Mike Jones and Joey Ruben.

Sponsors: KEVIN B. MORRISON, FRANK J. AGUILAR, ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR, SCOTT R.

BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, PETER N.

SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN

Indexes:

File #: 21-1247, Version: 1

## **Code sections:**

## Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
1/28/2021	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass