

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 22-2437 Version: 1 Name: HONORING WOMEN'S HISTORY MONTH AND

THE 25th ANNIVERSARY OF THE PEGGY MONTES UNSUNG HEROINE AWARDS

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 3/14/2022 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 3/17/2022 Final action: 3/17/2022

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING WOMEN'S HISTORY MONTH AND THE 25th ANNIVERSARY OF THE PEGGY

MONTES UNSUNG HEROINE AWARDS

WHEREAS, March is celebrated and honored as nationally as Women's History Month, and

WHEREAS, Women's History Month first came to be as a national celebration in 1987, although the first celebrations, beginning in 1981 lasted only a week; and

WHEREAS, Thanks to petitions from the National Women's History Project, which led to the President of the United States in 1987 proclaiming March of every year, Women's History Month to honor the achievements of women; and

WHEREAS, in celebration of Women's History Month, Cook County annually recognizes the recipients of the Peggy A. Montes Unsung Heroine Awards; and

WHEREAS, the Cook County Commission on Women's Issues this year celebrated the 25th anniversary of the Peggy A. Montes Unsung Heroine Awards during which a diverse group of women were recognized for their vital contributions to their communities, families and for their professional endeavors; and

WHEREAS, the 2022 Unsung Heroines of Cook County are Crystal E. Gardner, District 1; Asiaha Butler, District 2; Annette Nance- Holt, District 3; Belle K. McClandon, District 4; Virgil "Vir" Jackson, District 5; Lamekia Davis, District 6; María Esparza, District 7; Rosario Villalobos, District 8; Arielle Strauss, District 9; Eva Panczyk, District 10; Kathleen Cavallone Turney, District 11; Willie Shaw, District 13; Michelle Valiukenas, District 14; Dominice LaPorte, District 15; Jamie Kucera, District 16; Donna Adam District 17; and Carlisa N. Thomas Gates, At Large

WHEREAS, each of these Unsung Heroines, have made meaningful contributions to the growth and strength of Cook County in countless recognized and unrecognized ways; and

WHEREAS, it is important to salute these diverse and extraordinary women, in their diverse and extraordinary endeavors; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the President of the Cook County Board and Members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners in recognition of Women's History Month, take this opportunity on behalf of the people of Cook County to bestow upon these women, the 2022 Cook County Commission on Women's Issues "Peggy A. Montes Unsung Heroine Award;" and

BE IT RESOLVED, that the President and Board Commissioners hereby express official personal gratitude and deep appreciation to each of these extraordinary women for their outstanding public service and dedication; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, by the President and Cook County Board of Commissioners proudly

File #: 22-2437, Version: 1

honor the achievements of this year's Unsung Heroine Honorees and celebrate March as Women's

History Month.

Sponsors: TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), LARRY SUFFREDIN, BRIDGET GAINER, DENNIS DEER, KEVIN

B. MORRISON, DONNA MILLER, BILL LOWRY, SCOTT R. BRITTON, ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR, JOHN P. DALEY, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRANDON JOHNSON, FRANK J. AGUILAR,

STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
3/17/2022	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass