



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 22-2446 Version: 1 Name: JOSEPHINE BASKIN MINOW, IN MEMORIAM

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 3/15/2022 In control: Daley

On agenda: 3/17/2022 Final action: 3/17/2022

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

JOSEPHINE BASKIN MINOW, IN MEMORIAM

WHEREAS, Almighty God in His infinite wisdom has called Josephine Baskin Minow from our midst,

and

WHEREAS, Josephine Baskin Minow was the loving and adored wife of Newton N. Minow, and

WHEREAS, Josephine Baskin Minow was the loving mother of Nell, Martha, and Mary, and

WHEREAS, Josephine Baskin Minow was the beloved grandmother of Ben and Rachel Apatoff and

Mira Singer, and

WHEREAS, Josephine Baskin Minow served on some of the city's most significant civic organizations

including the Chicago History Museum, Ravinia, and Know Your Chicago, and

WHEREAS, Josephine Baskin Minow was a member of the Juvenile Protective Association, founding member of the Northwestern University Women's Board, member of the Women's Boards of the University of Chicago and Field Museum, governing member of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, member of the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum in Springfield Illinois, and served as both director and executive committee member of the Chicago Council on Global Affairs.

WHEREAS, all who knew her will attest that Josephine Baskin Minow was a kind and compassionate woman, virtuous of character and gentle in spirit, admired and respected by her many friends and neighbors, and dearly loved by her family, now therefore

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Board of Commissioners of Cook County that the Board does hereby offer its deepest condolences and most heartfelt sympathy to the family and many friends of Josephine Baskin Minow, and joins them in sorrow at this time of loss, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this text be spread upon the official proceedings of this Honorable Body, and a suitable copy of same be tendered to the family of Josephine Baskin Minow that her

memory may be so honored and ever cherished.

Sponsors: JOHN P. DALEY, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), FRANK J. AGUILAR, ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS

ARROYO JR, SCOTT R. BRITTON, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, STANLEY MOORE, KEVIN B. MORRISON,

SEAN M. MORRISON, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
3/17/2022	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass