

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #:	22-2662 Version: 1	Name:	South Suburban College Men's Basketball Resolution	
Туре:	Consent Calendar Resolution	Status:	Approved	
File created:	3/28/2022	In control:	Board of Commissioners	
On agenda:	4/7/2022	Final action:	4/7/2022	

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE SOUTH SUBURBAN COLLEGE MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM ON THEIR NJCAA DIVISION II NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP

WHEREAS, on March 19, 2022, the South Suburban College Men's Basketball Team won the National Junior Athletic Association (NJCAA) Division II National Championship; and

WHEREAS, the Bulldogs 2021-2022 roster included: Damarco Minor, Nmesomachi Nnebedum, Damontae Taylor, Camron Donatlan, Greg Cavette, Chris Smith, Jonathon Brundidge, Osiris Atisso, Nuri Knighten, Cameron Bartmann, Dominykas Romonas, Christian Heffner, and Jordan Wood led by Head Coach John Pigatti and Assistant Coach Fabian Chatman; and

WHEREAS, the Bulldogs completed a historic season, going undefeated with a 33-0 record, capped off with the national title and becoming the first unbeaten champion in NJCAA Division II history; and

WHEREAS, the top-seeded Bulldogs defeated Davidson-Davie Community College of North Carolina 79-63 in Danville, Illinois to secure their first national championship in the school's history; and

WHEREAS, the Bulldogs overcame a scare in the Region 4 championship game March 5, escaping with a 74-73 victory that would propel them into the national tournament with a renewed determination and mindset to not let things get so close, winning four games at nationals by an average margin of 20.5 points; and

WHEREAS, South Suburban's Freshman guard Damarco Minor, a Thornton graduate was named MVP of the national tournament leading the team in scoring with 20.8 points a game, but many other team members shined throughout the tournament including, Donatlan, Taylor and Nmesomachi Nnebedum who were named to the all-tournament team; and

WHEREAS, the Bulldogs opened the national tournament March 15 with an 87-52 victory against Florida Gateway with Freshman forward Damontae Taylor, a Zion-Benton graduate, leading the way with 30 points and 14 rebounds; and

WHEREAS, South Suburban College sophomore guard Camron Donatlan was also stellar in the run to the championship, scoring 28 points and Damarco Minor adding 22 points, nine rebounds and four assists in an 82-63 victory against Lakeland on March 16; and

WHEREAS, two days later Donatlan had 30 points and 10 rebounds in a 69-57 semifinal victory against defending champion Des Moines Area, and in the championship game, Minor had 29 points, eight rebounds and three steals, and Donatlan chipped in with 20 points; and

WHEREAS, Coach John Pigatti credits strong defense for the Bulldogs' ability to bring home their first national championship in their 12th trip to the tournament, and was honored to help guide such a gifted group, remarking, ""They were just special offensively and defensively"; and

WHEREAS, tournament MVP Damarco Minor reflected, "It feels good. It feels real good," adding, "I

tried to go into the game as if it was just the same game as the 32, we had before, not treat it too big or treat any less of what it was. Just listen to Coach's X's and O's, execute the offensive game plan and the defensive game plan and we were going to come out victorious."

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the President and Members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners does hereby congratulate Cook County's own South Suburban College Men's Basketball Team on their historic season and championship win; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT, this text be spread upon the official proceedings of this Honorable Body and a suitable copy be presented to the President of South Suburban College, Lynette D. Stokes, Head Coach of the Bulldogs, John Pigatti, Assistant Coach Fabian Chatman, Athletic Director, Steve Ruzich and the entire Bulldog team.

Sponsors: DONNA MILLER, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), FRANK J. AGUILAR, ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR, SCOTT R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, STANLEY MOORE, KEVIN B. MORRISON, SEAN M. MORRISON, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
4/7/2022	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass