

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

Legislation Details

File #: 22-2724 Version: 1 Name: A RESOLUTION HONORING VILLAGE MANAGER

RAY RUMMEL OF ELK GROVE VILLAGE

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 3/30/2022 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 4/7/2022 Final action: 4/7/2022

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION HONORING VILLAGE MANAGER RAY RUMMEL OF ELK GROVE VILLAGE

WHEREAS, Village Manager Ray Rummel of Elk Grove Village retires after a successful 32 year

career in public service; and

WHEREAS, Rummel graduated with a Masters Degree in Public Administration before starting with

Elk Grove Village in 1989; and

WHEREAS, prior to his service in Elk Grove Village, he served for a short tenure at the Village of Lake

Zurich; and

WHEREAS, Rummel served as Assistant Village Manager in 1993 before being appointed as Village

Manager in 2007; and

WHEREAS, Village Manager Rummel was part of many important initiatives during his time at Elk

Grove Village; and

WHEREAS, he led the Village in being on the forefront of technology from leading the creation of the Village's first website in 1994, long before other municipalities, to helping to support the development

of the Elk Grove Technology Park and helping recruit high tech businesses; and

WHEREAS, Rummel has led Elk Grove Village through difficult periods including the Great Recession

and the COVID-19 pandemic; and

WHEREAS, he contributed greatly by overseeing new fire stations and municipal buildings and

helping to establish the Elk Grove Cares program to address opioid addiction; and

WHEREAS, Cook County and the Cook County Board of Commissioners have had the honor of working with Village Manager Ray Rummel and Elk Grove Village and he has proved to be a

wonderful partner; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Cook County Board of Commissioners do hereby

honor Village Manager Ray Rummel for his commitment to public service; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that suitable copies of this resolution are presented to Ray Rummel.

Sponsors: KEVIN B. MORRISON, FRANK J. AGUILAR, ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR, SCOTT R.

BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, STANLEY MOORE, SEAN M. MORRISON, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY

SUFFREDIN, BRIDGET GAINER

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

File #: 22-2724, Version: 1

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
4/7/2022	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass