



Board of Commissioners of Cook County

Legislation Details

File #: 22-5496 Version: 1 Name: John Yonan

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 9/16/2022 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 9/22/2022 Final action: 9/22/2022

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING JOHN YONAN UPON THE OCCASION OF HIS RETIREMENT FOR HIS SERVICE TO COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS

WHEREAS, John Yonan has had an accomplished and widely admired 29-year career in local government; and

WHEREAS, John will be retiring as Bureau Chief for the Cook County Bureau of Asset Management on September 23, 2022; and

WHEREAS, throughout his career with Cook County, John has earned a reputation as an inspiring and humble leader, known for his accessibility and generosity with his time and wisdom as a mentor to many; and

WHEREAS, besides his dedication to making the workplace a welcoming space for all people, he is also known for his willingness to step in and work hard at every level, a consummate team player and a positive force for change; and

WHEREAS, John is a graduate of Southern Illinois University, earning his Bachelors of Science in Civil Engineering in 1992; and

WHEREAS, John began his career at the city of Chicago as a Project Engineer in 1993, working his way up at the Chicago Department of Transportation to Deputy Commissioner and Chief Engineer; and

WHEREAS, at the Chicago Department of Transportation, John was responsible for maintaining the 1,000 miles of arterial roadways and 300 bridges, and in his career at the city he secured outside funding for critical improvements and provided diligent oversight of projects; and

WHEREAS, Cook County was thrilled to hire John in 2012 as the Superintendent of the Cook County Department of Transportation and Highways, where he was charged with the planning, design and construction of over 565 miles of roadway and 135 bridges; and

WHEREAS, John oversaw the county's first long-range transportation plan in 76 years, Invest in Cook, a transformative initiative that promoted equitable access to and modernization of transportation, and brought countless benefits to the people of Cook County; and

WHEREAS, in November of 2020, John Yonan was appointed as Bureau Chief of the Cook County Bureau of Asset Management, where he oversaw the facilities, capital planning, and real estate of Cook County; and

WHEREAS, appointed during the tumult of the COVID-19 pandemic, John lead the effort to provide safe facilities for the public to access services, navigated the changing workplace as the pandemic raged on, and was integral in the effort to stand up mass vaccination sites to meet the challenges of a once-in-a-lifetime public health crisis; and

File #: 22-5496, Version: 1

WHEREAS, besides the challenges of the pandemic, John oversaw advancements in sustainability efforts, lead the plan for expenditure of historic American Rescue Plan funds to bring infrastructure equity to all communities in Cook County, and remained dedicated to carrying out his work with integrity until his very last day of service; and

WHEREAS, having ably and dutifully served the citizens of Cook County for 30 years, John Yonan has earned the spoils and relaxation of retirement. We wish him travel and adventure, many sunny days enjoying the great outdoors, and the opportunity to spend more time cooking outstanding meals and doing what he does best: bringing people together; and

WHEREAS, Cook County wishes John well on his next chapter of life, with more time to spend with his wife Lisa and daughters Jillian and Jessica; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the President and Members of the Board of Commissioners, on behalf of the 5.2 million residents and over 22,000 employees of Cook County, congratulates John Yonan upon the occasion of his retirement; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this Resolution be spread upon the official proceedings of this Honorable Body and that an official copy of the same be tendered to John Yonan.

Sponsors:

TONI PRECKWINKLE (President), FRANK J. AGUILAR, ALMA E. ANAYA, LUIS ARROYO JR, SCOTT R. BRITTON, JOHN P. DALEY, DENNIS DEER, BRIDGET DEGNEN, BRIDGET GAINER, BRANDON JOHNSON, BILL LOWRY, DONNA MILLER, STANLEY MOORE, KEVIN B. MORRISON, SEAN M. MORRISON, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, LARRY SUFFREDIN

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
9/22/2022	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass