



## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

## **Legislation Details**

File #: 23-3161 Version: 1 Name: RESOLUTION HONORING ASIAN AMERICAN

HERITAGE MONTH AND ASIAN AMERICAN

**ELECTED OFFICIALS** 

Type: Consent Calendar Resolution Status: Approved

File created: 5/22/2023 In control: Board of Commissioners

On agenda: 5/25/2023 Final action: 5/25/2023

Title: PROPOSED RESOLUTION

RESOLUTION HONORING ASIAN AMERICAN HERITAGE MONTH AND ASIAN AMERICAN

**ELECTED OFFICIALS** 

WHEREAS, the month of May is recognized as Asian American Heritage Month; and

WHEREAS, Cook County celebrates the vast contributions made by Asian Americans in our

communities; and

WHEREAS, Asian American representation in elected office has grown exponentially in the last decade bringing greater participation and visibility for Asian Americans in government; and

WHEREAS, in 1976, Joseph Tecson made history as the first Asian American to serve on the Cook County Board; and

WHEREAS, Sandra Otaka was appointed to the bench in 2000 and in 2002, she was elected as the first Asian American Cook County Judge; and

WHEREAS, Ameya Pawar was elected in 2007 as the first Asian American Alderman elected to the Chicago City Council; and

WHEREAS, Tammy Duckworth was elected in 2012 to the U.S. House of Representatives as the first Asian American from Illinois in Congress and in 2016 was elected to the U.S. Senate; and

WHEREAS, in 2016, Josina Morita was the first Asian American elected in Cook County to a countywide seat as a Commissioner of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District and in 2022 was the first Asian American woman elected as Commissioner of the Cook County Board of Commissioners; and

WHEREAS, in 2016, Theresa Mah was elected to the Illinois General Assembly as State Representative of the 2nd District and was reelected to the 24th District; and

WHEREAS, in 2016, Raja Krishnamoorthi was elected as Representative to the U.S. House of Representatives for the 8th District of Illinois; and

WHEREAS, in 2018, Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz was elected to the Illinois General Assembly as State Representative of the 17th District and Ram Villivalam was elected to the Illinois General Assembly as State Senator of the 8th District; and

WHEREAS, additionally in 2018, Holly Kim was elected as Treasurer of Lake County Government; and

WHEREAS, in 2020, Janet Yang Rohr was elected to the Illinois General Assembly as State Representative of the 41st District and Denyse Wang Stonebeck was elected to the Illinois General

## File #: 23-3161, Version: 1

Assembly as State Representative of the 16th District; and

WHEREAS, in 2022, Kevin Olickal was elected to the Illinois General Assembly as State Representative of the 16th District; and

WHEREAS, in 2022, Nabeela Syd was elected to the Illinois General Assembly as State Representative of the 51st District; and

WHEREAS, in 2022, Hoan Hyunh was elected to the Illinois General Assembly as State Representative of the 13th District; and

WHEREAS, in 2022, Sharon Chung was elected to the Illinois General Assembly as State Representative of the 91st District; and

WHEREAS, in 2022, Nicole Lee was appointed as Alderwoman of the 11th Ward in the Chicago City Council and was elected to a full term in 2023 becoming the first Asian American woman to serve in that role; and

WHEREAS, in 2023, Leni Manna-Hoppenworth was elected as Alderwoman of the 48th Ward in the Chicago City Council; and

WHEREAS, over 100 Asian Americans have been elected to offices from Mayor to Judges across the state in recent years greatly expanding representation for Asian Americans in government; and

WHEREAS, representation in government is vital to address issues the diverse and unique challenges and needs from anti-Asian hate to language access that Asian American communities face and the visibility of Asian Americans in government has served as an inspiration to many community members who have not seen themselves represented in government in the past; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that we, the Cook County Board of Commissioners do hereby celebrate Asian American Heritage Month and applaud the leadership of these dedicated and esteemed public servants; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that suitable copies of this resolution be presented to the public officials honored in this resolution.

Sponsors:

JOSINA MORITA, TONI PRECKWINKLE (President)

Indexes:

**Code sections:** 

## Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
5/25/2023	1	Board of Commissioners	approve	Pass