

## Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

## **Legislation Text**

File #: 14-3287, Version: 1

## PROPOSED RESOLUTION

## HONORING THE RE-FOUNDING OF THE CHICAGO DISTRICT ASSOCIATION OF STUDENT COUNCILS

WHEREAS, the Chicago District Association of Student Councils, composed of student council representatives from area public and private high schools, strives to improve local schools and address community concerns through citizenship and service, as well as represent Chicago on the Illinois Association of Student Councils; and

WHEREAS, after an eight-year interruption, student leaders from four high schools-Curie Metropolitan High School, John Hancock High School, Thomas Kelly High School, and Whitney M. Young Magnet High School-committed themselves to the re-founding of the Chicago District Association of Student Councils (CDASC); and

WHEREAS, through the leadership of Carolina Viramontes of Whitney M. Young Magnet High School, a series of meetings were convened in 2013, with the CDASC electing its first Executive Board: Carolina Viramontes (President), Angel Díaz (Vice President), Keyante Aytch (2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President), Citlalli Bueno (Secretary), Marivi Ocampo (Treasurer), and Charles Gomez (State Liaison); and

WHEREAS, throughout this past year the CDASC has endeavored to build a foundation for its growth, engaging in service projects, strengthening communication between schools, attending the Illinois Association of Student Councils Convention in Springfield, and creating a welcoming environment where ideas and leadership can thrive; and,

**WHEREAS**, on Saturday, May 17<sup>th</sup> they held their first annual CDASC Convention at Thomas Kelly High School, drawing close to fifty students who took part in workshops on leadership, public speaking and public relations, listened to motivational talks by Cook County Commissioner García and City of Chicago Alderman Pawar, and elected new officers; and

WHEREAS, the 2014-2015 Executive Board, charged with growing the CDASC into a strong student voice in Illinois, as well as nationally, took their oath of office: Angel Díaz (President), Keyante Aytch (Vice President), Marilyn Hurtado (2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President), Cristian Bazea (Secretary), Marivi Ocampo (Treasurer), and Charles Gomez (State Liaison); and

WHEREAS, Ms. Janet Allen, Activities Coordinator at Thomas Kelly High School, who served as advisor to the CDASC prior to the 8-year gap, has provided invaluable counsel and encouragement in its re-founding and continues to serve as advisor.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Cook County Board of Commissioners does hereby honors and congratulates these young leaders in the re-founding of the Chicago District Association of Student Councils and wishes them much success in developing greater numbers of student leaders in Chicago area high schools and having a strong voice in the Illinois Association of Student Councils and the National Association of Student Councils; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that a suitable copy of this Resolution be spread upon the official proceedings of this Honorable Body and that an official copy of the same be tendered to each member of the 2013-2014 and 2014-2015 Chicago District Association of Student Councils Executive Boards and to the four re-founding high schools: Curie Metropolitan High School, John Hancock High School, Thomas Kelly High School, and Whitney M. Young Magnet High School.

File #: 14-3287, Version: 1