Legislation Text

File #: 15-4050, Version: 1

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

SALUTING THE SIX TIME STANLEY CUP CHAMPION CHICAGO BLACKHAWKS

WHEREAS, on June 15, 2015 the Chicago Blackhawks defeated the Tampa Bay Lightning 2-0 to become 2015 Stanley Cup Champions; and

WHEREAS, the Blackhawks - one of the National Hockey League's (NHL) "Original Six" teams - added the team's sixth Stanley Cup to join their 1934, 1938, 1961, 2010, and 2013 championships; and

WHEREAS, with this, their third championship in six years, the Blackhawks have cemented their place as one of the few "dynasties" in modern hockey history; and

WHEREAS, the Blackhawks earned a 48-28-6 record (102 points) during the 2014-2015 regular season; and

WHEREAS, in the first round of the playoffs they defeated their Central Division rival Nashville Predators. In game 1, the Blackhawks were down 3-0 before eventually winning 4-3 in the 2nd overtime period and winning the series in six games; and

WHEREAS, in the second round of the playoffs they swept their other Central Division rival Minnesota Wild four games to none; and

WHEREAS, in the Western Conference Finals they faced the Anaheim Ducks. Game 2 of that series went into triple overtime, and game 4 went into double overtime. The Hawks were the eventual victors in Game 7 of that series earning the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl; and

WHEREAS, in the Stanley Cup Final the Blackhawks were down two games to one to the Lightning before winning three straight games to clinch the Stanley Cup in Game 6 at the United Center; and

WHEREAS, all of the members of the 2015 roster deserve recognition for their talents, blood, and sweat given during the regular season and playoffs including: Bryan Bickell, Daniel Carcillo, Andrew Desjardins, Marian Hossa, Patrick Kane, Marcus Kruger, Joakim Nordstrom, Brad Richards, Brandon Saad, Andrew Shaw, Teuvo Teravainen, Antoine Vermette, Kris Versteeg, Kyle Cumiskey, Niklas Hjalmarsson, Patrick Sharp, Johnny Oduya, Michael Rozsival, David Rundblad, Brent Seabrook, Kimmo Timonen, Trevor van Riemsdyk, Corey Crawford, Scott Darling, Antti Raanta; and

WHEREAS, this team is led from the bench by head coach Joel Quenneville and his top-notch coaching staff, who masterfully plan and strategize the team's path to victory; and

WHEREAS, this team is led on the ice by its captain, Jonathan Toews, whom embodies everything that a leader should be; and

WHEREAS, assistant captain Duncan Keith was awarded the Conn Smythe trophy as the Stanley Cup Finals Most Valuable Player; and

WHEREAS, goalie Corey Crawford, the 2014-2015 Jennings Trophy recipient, only allowed 2 goals during the last

three games of the Finals, and earned a shut-out in game 6; and

WHEREAS, we also salute Blackhawks Chairman Rocky Wirtz, Team President and CEO John McDonough, Exec. Vice President Jay Blunk, Vice President/General Manager Stan Bowman, and the entire Blackhawks organization for their efforts to build a hockey dynasty in Chicago.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the President and the Cook County Board of Commissioners, on behalf of the residents of Cook County do hereby congratulate the Chicago Blackhawks on their 2015 Stanley Cup Championship, and express our pride and joy upon this wonderful occasion and look forward to celebrating championship number seven in 2016.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this Resolution be tendered to the Chicago Blackhawks as a means of communicating our pride during this momentous occasion.