

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

Legislation Text

File #: 18-2639, Version: 1

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE MARSHALL HIGH SCHOOL LADY COMMANDOS BASKETBALL TEAM FOR BEING THE ILLINOIS STATE 2A CHAMPIONS

WHEREAS, the John Marshall Metro High School is located on the West Side of Chicago; and

WHEREAS, nearly 700 students attend Marshall High School; and

WHEREAS, the Marshall Lady Commandos had a fantastic 2018 season; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Dorothy Gaters continued her legacy of victories and is the winningest coach in Illinois basketball history; and

WHEREAS, the team consists of: Miyanda Rainey, Dyanla Rainey, Jalyn Jimenez, Brandi Hudson, Dashiera Butts, Dajanar James, Jayonna Smith, Niyah Zamundio, Roquesha Sims, Ashante Kizer, Tamarriyanna Levy, and Kenosha Walker; and

WHEREAS, this successful season was the result of countless hours of practice and discipline in addition to the full course load each member of the team carried; and

WHEREAS, the families, coaches, teachers, and friends of the players made this championship possible with their unyielding support and commitment; and

WHEREAS, this outstanding accomplishment is just one of many for the school and its students.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the President of the Board and the Cook County Board of Commissioners that the John Marshall Metro High School Girls Basketball Team is honored for being the Illinois State 2A Champions.