

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

Legislation Text

File #: 21-0572, Version: 1

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

HONORING THE LADIES OF DELTA SIGMA THETA SORORITY, INC. 108th FOUNDERS DAY CELEBRATION AND FOR THEIR LEADERSHIP, DEDICATION, AND COMMITMENT TO PUBLIC SERVICE

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was founded on January 13, 1913 by 22 collegiate women at Howard University to promote academic excellence and aid those in need; and

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. three basic principles are Sisterhood, Scholarship, and Service, and

WHEREAS, these examples have withstood the test of time and are exemplified through the Five-Point Programmatic Thrust which are: Economic Development, Educational Development, International Awareness and Involvement, Physical and Mental Health, and Political Awareness and Involvement (Social Action); and

WHEREAS, In March of 1913, the Founders of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. performed their first public act of service by participating in the Women's Suffrage March in Washington D.C.; and

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was incorporated in 1930 and is a private, not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. Since its founding more than 300,000 women have joined the organization. The organization is a sisterhood of predominantly Black, college educated women. The sorority currently has 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, Canada (Toronto), Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica, Saudi Arabia (Dubai), and the Republic of Korea. Its members count among them doctors, lawyers, teachers, preachers, technicians, and government officials; and

WHEREAS, some notable Deltas are: Hon. Shirley Chisholm, Ruby Dee Davis, Dr. Dorothy I. Height, Hon. Barbara Jordan, Hon. Carrie P. Meek, Hon. Barbara Watson and Cook County's Hon. Dorothy Brown, Hon. Carol Moseley Braun, Hon. Kim Foxx, Hon. Kim Lightford, Hon. Camille Lilly, Hon. Nyota Figgs, Hon. Kari K. Steele, Dr. Ngozi Ezike; and

WHEREAS, there are (eight) Chapters of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. in Cook County: Chicago Alumnae, Chicago Metropolitan Alumnae, Evanston-North Shore Alumnae, Glen Ellyn Area Alumnae, Joliet Area/South Suburban Alumnae, Lambda, Theta Alpha, Upsilon Upsilon; and

WHEREAS, Chicago Alumnae Chapter was established in 1959 with its current headquarters on the Southside of Chicago in the historic Bronzeville community and under the leadership of President Cathy Walker Murray, Shaunessye Curry, First Vice President and Chair of Membership Services, and Barbara Keaton Stubblefield, Second Vice President and Chair of Program Planning and Development. The Chicago Alumnae Chapter currently has over 500 members; and

WHEREAS, Chapters in Cook County conduct Deputy Registrar training, serve as Deputy Registrars, promote census outreach efforts, host fraud awareness workshops for Seniors, host the Bernadette Whitt Mental Health Symposium, educate the community of mental health issues, conduct an annual book bag and school supply drive serving hundreds of children in Cook County, provide academic scholarships for college bound students and participate in a host of other programs serving the community.

File #: 21-0572, Version: 1

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that on behalf of the President, the Cook County Board of Commissioners and the 5.4 million residents of Cook County take great pleasure in honoring and celebrating the women of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. for their leadership, dedication and commitment and hereby proclaimed January 13, 2021 as Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Day in Cook County and herewith our sincere gratitude for your service to the community and residents of Cook County; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a suitable copy of this Resolution is spread upon the official proceeding of this Honorable Body with an official copy of the same be tendered to Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. in honor of this auspicious occasion