

Legislation Text

File #: 22-2306, Version: 1

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION IN SUPPORT OF UKRAINE

WHEREAS, on January 21, 1990, more than 400,000 Ukrainians called for unity and independence from the Soviet Union by forming a human chain stretching 400 miles between the cities of Kyiv and Ivano-Frankivsk. Many waved the blue and yellow Ukrainian flag that had been banned by the Soviet Union; and

WHEREAS, on August 24, 1991, a day still celebrated as Ukrainian Independence Day, the Ukrainian Parliament declared Independence from the Soviet Union. On December 1, 1991, more than 90 percent of Ukrainian citizens voted in a national referendum in support of independence. On December 26, 1991, Ukraine officially became independent from the Soviet Union; and

WHEREAS, in December of 1994, under a treaty called the Budapest Memorandum, Ukraine agreed to dissolve its nuclear infrastructure in exchange for guarantees and promises from the United States, the United Kingdom, and Russia that Ukraine would remain as an independent and sovereign state; and

WHEREAS, in November of 2013, citing pressure from Russia, Ukrainian President Yanukovych refused to sign an agreement with the European Union to bring Ukraine into a free trade agreement. The decision sparked protests across Ukraine calling for the resignation of former President Yanukovych. Ahead of an impeachment vote, President Yanukovych fled to Russia, leading the Ukrainian Parliament to vote to remove Yanukovych from office and sign the European Union agreement; and

WHEREAS, in retaliation to Ukraine's movement towards development of a free economy in connection with the European Union and continued independence, the Russian Federation invaded the peninsula of Crimea in February and March of 2014. Russia's illegally annexed the region, held a sham referendum, and through hostility, claimed the territory. It remains the only time that a European nation has used military force to seize the territory of another country since World War II; and

WHEREAS, in April of 2014, Russian-supported separatist forces stormed Ukrainian government buildings in two eastern regions, Donetsk and Luhansk. Russia declared the regions independent from Ukraine and re-named them "the Donetsk People's Republic" and "Luhansk People's Republic", though they remain internationally recognized as part of Ukraine. The violence over this region continues to this day, despite several cease-fire agreements signed by Russia and Ukraine, referred to as the Minsk I and II agreements; and

WHEREAS, since February 2015, Russia has continuously failed to live up honor its written and verbal promises under the Minsk agreements, and the Russian-backed war in the Donbas has claimed approximately 14,000 lives; and

WHEREAS in April of 2021, the Russian military deployed 100,000 troops to occupy the Ukraine borders, under the guise of military exercises. Though they ultimately withdrew, they left significant military equipment and troops behind. In October and November of 2021, the troops returned; and

WHEREAS, on February 21, 2022, the State Duma of Russia passed a bill, approved by President Vladimir Putin, to identify the two above-referenced regions of its neighbor country, Ukraine, under Russia rule. President Vladimir Putin then ordered troops to the area; and

WHEREAS, Russia's hostile occupation of Ukraine is an active violation of international law, Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity, and the Minsk agreements; and

WHEREAS, on February 24, 2022, Russia forces launched an unprovoked full-scale invasion of a peaceful, independent country. It is the largest military operation in Europe since World War II; and

WHEREAS, it is the long-held right in this civil age of countries to decide their future, foreign policy, and security arrangements free from outside interference or coercion; and

WHEREAS, on February 25, 2022, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization ("NATO") condemned "in the strongest possible terms Russia's horrifying attack on Ukraine", called on Russia "to turn back from the path of violence and aggression", and reaffirmed an "iron-clad" commitment to Article 5; and

WHEREAS, the European Commission, France, Germany, Italy, the United Kingdom, and Canada joined with the United States in committing to coordinated economic sanctions, including severe restrictions, against Russia's Central Bank and full blocking sanctions against Vladimir Putin; and

WHEREAS, Russian forces have targeted civilians during this conflict, and the United Nations has recorded hundreds of civilian deaths including dozens of children. Russian forces have inarguably committed war crimes and crimes against humanity as defined under longstanding NATO peace treaties; and

WHEREAS, at the time of the filing of this Resolution, over 406 Ukrainian civilians have been confirmed dead, and over two million people have to fled their homes and country; and

WHEREAS, in the days since the renewed full-scale invasion began, Russian citizens have taken to the streets in cities and towns across Russia to protest Putin's illegitimate and destructive war waged against a peaceful and sovereign Ukraine;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Cook County Board of Commissioners supports Ukraine's sovereignty and independence; and

BE IT FUTHER RESOLVED that the Cook County Board of Commissioners urges an immediate cease-fire and withdrawal of Russian forces. The Board supports the right of the Russian people to protest and urges the immediate release of all those who have been unjustly detained in Russia for expressing their desire for peace; and

BE IT FUTHER RESOLVED that in solidarity with Ukraine and their fight against the authoritarian regime of President Putin, the Ukrainian Flag will fly in the place of the Cook County flag located on Daley Plaza from March 17-24.