

Board of Commissioners of Cook County

118 North Clark Street Chicago, IL

Legislation Text

File #: 23-2695, Version: 1

PROPOSED RESOLUTION

RESOLUTION SUPPORTING ETHAN'S LAW

WHEREAS, according to the 2022 Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms Report, more than 1 million guns were stolen from private citizens from 2017 to 2021; and

WHEREAS, a study published by the American Journal of Public Health in 2018 reported that over half of all of gun owners do not properly lock all their guns away; and

WHEREAS, a 2015 study reported in Journal of American Medical Association estimated that roughly 4.6 million children live in a home with loaded and unlocked firearms; and

WHEREAS, according to research funded by the National Institute of Justice, over 80% of mass shooters at K-12 schools stole guns from family members; and

WHEREAS, a 2019 study reported in JAMA Pediatrics demonstrated that nearly a third of youth suicides and unintentional deaths could be prevented by securing all firearms within a household; and

WHEREAS, properly securing all firearms is a safe practice that prevents access to unauthorized individuals or minors; and

WHEREAS, Cook County supports legislation that would mandate safe firearm storage; and

WHEREAS, Ethan's Law was recently proposed in the Illinois Senate as Senate Bill 1521; and

WHEREAS, under Ethan's Law, gun owners would be required to secure any firearms on the premises in a "secure gun storage or safety device" or "in a location that a reasonable person would believe to be secure" if a minor is likely to gain access to the firearm without permission, or if a resident of the dwelling cannot legally possess a firearm under existing law;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Cook County supports Ethan's Law and the safe storage of firearms, and urges Illinois state legislators to progress and support Ethan's Law in 2023; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that suitable copies of this resolution be presented to the Governor of Illinois, the Illinois Senate President and Minority Leader, the Illinois House Speaker and Minority Leader, and to the members of the Illinois Executive Committee.